How are T-levels Assessed?

T-level is a brand-new, two-year program that, was founded in 2020 and will be equivalent to three A-levels. They are the vocational degrees that provide you with additional practical knowledge. You can take up T-levels instead of A-levels if you are not interested to take up the qualification that is more concentrated on theoretical knowledge. As you know what T-levels are, I am sure you would want to learn how are T-levels assessed. 

Quick Takeaways

  • T-levels are graded based on the two main components- the core component and the industry placement. 
  • You will be getting the grades based on the coursework, tests, etc. 
  • You are awarded similar to BTECs but graded the same as A-levels. 
  • They help you to get directly into the workforce.

Also, do not forget to read till the end so that you do not miss any crucial knowledge for it.

How is T-levels Assessed?

How are T-levels graded?

The T-levels generally comprise two main components – the core component and the industry placement. The only components of the T-Level that are scored separately are the core and industrial specialization (a component of the core). Similar to GCSEs, the graded core components are marked using a set of subject-specific common criteria. The weighting of this score is based on the ratio of the size of the core (20–50%) to the occupational specialization (50–80%).

While the vocational specialization is awarded as pass, merit, or distinction, similar to BTECs, the grades for the core are provided in the A*-E range as A-Levels. Just like other qualifications, these aspects are graded using a combination of coursework, tests, and other components. Like other qualifications, these aspects are graded using a combination of coursework, tests, and other similar requirements. If you don’t finish the T-Level, you will receive a certificate showing the sections and grades that you did finish. It will help to demonstrate that you put effort to work on them.

What are the grades for T Levels?

Your T-levels are equal to three A-levels and thus it offers you the same grade and UCAS points that you will be getting for three A-levels. The only difference is that they generally get Distinction*(D*), Distinction(D), Merit(M), Pass (C or above core), and Pass (D or E core). Following is that table that will help you to understand the different grades you will get in T-levels.

How is T-levels Assessed?
T-level GradesA-level GradesUCAS Tariff Points
C or above coreCCC96
D or E coreDDD72

Do you get paid with T-Levels?

A mandatory component of a T-Level qualification is a work placement. Because companies frequently need to provide additional mentoring or assistance to you, you are not usually compensated while completing them. This is because giving you training and providing you with mentorship costs them extra time and money. However, you might receive compensation while participating in your work placement. This is a choice made by the company you are working with, it cannot be generalized.

Can you get into university with T-Levels?

Your T-Level will be recognized by universities and other educational institutions, giving you the option to continue your studies if you so desire. This is because T-Level Distinction* is equivalent to three A levels at an A* in terms of value. However, as a result of this system, students are steered straight into the workforce instead of higher education. Many colleges like Oxford and Cambridge may decide not to accept applicants with T-Levels due to it. 

How is T-levels Assessed?

How many T levels can you take?

Because T-Levels are single-subject focused, they are normally taken one at a time. In addition to learning a variety of skills and knowledge that will help your job development, this allows you to fully focus on your passions. They take a lot of time to finish, therefore you can’t study more than one of them at once. Additionally, it is challenging because it requires both in-class learning and industry placement.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of T levels?

The following are the advantages of taking up T-levels-

  • As there are only 20 T-levels to choose from you will get a wide range of courses to choose from. This will help you to decide which field you want to go to.
  • It is important to complete the 45 days of work placement with professionals. This will help you to get experience in the related field.
  • You will be getting specialized knowledge in a single subject. This will help you to gain a lot of deep knowledge in a particular subject.
  • Unlike A-levels, you will not have to choose different subjects to focus on. This means you have more time to gain knowledge of the particular field.
How is T-levels Assessed?

The following are the disadvantages of taking up T-levels-

  • As this qualification does not focus on the academic level, this qualification is not generally considered by renowned universities.
  • You will have to give two written exams. Thus if you are avoiding taking A-levels because of exam pressure, it might not be much helpful. 
  • The coursework of this course is similar to the BTEC. Thus you may not find a lot of difference in it. 
  • As it is one of the latest qualifications, you may not find a lot of resources for completing them. 


T-levels are the vocational qualifications that give you more practical knowledge and are equal to three A-levels. The core component and the industry placement are the two basic components that make up T-levels in general. These criteria are evaluated using a mix of coursework, exams, and other similar requirements, just like other qualifications. You will be given a certificate listing the sections and grades you did complete if you don’t complete the T-Level.

You may also like...