How many GCSEs you can take?

GCSEs are academic qualifications that are taught to most students as part of the national curriculum at the end of compulsory education. You can take more GCSEs to increase your chances of success. If you want to do something good in the future then it is mandatory to choose this. If you live in England, Wales, or Northern Ireland, you will normally take your GCSEs at age 14 to 16 with final exams at the end of two years. At this age, it is very difficult for all of you to choose what you want to do with your life, and how many GCSEs you should take.

Quick Takeaways

  • Depending upon the school you will need to take up nine to ten GCSEs.
  • The highest grade at present is 9 and the lowest grade is 1 for any of the GCSE taken.

However, you must read till the end so that you do not miss any important facts related to the number of GCSEs you can take up.

How many GCSEs you can take?

How many GCSEs you can take?

Most students choose to take between nine and ten GCSEs. The number of GCSEs to take depends on what you want to do after leaving school, whatever you want to do in the future on GCSE Depends on whether it continues in the sixth form colleges at your current place of study. Your GCSE results can determine what A-levels or jobs you pursue later in life. P1 and P2 grades on the result mean high pass and low pass and you can resit them again at any age if you think the grade is lower than you expected.

By the way, let me tell you, your school decides the selection of GCSE subjects. It is up to your school which subjects they guide students to choose. Let us tell you that this decision will be based on your academic ability as well as the resources available in the school to help the students who want to get more than the average number of GCSE subjects. 

What is the highest grade in GCSEs?

The 9-1 grading scheme has been introduced in England with a new GCSE curriculum. Let us tell you that the highest grade at present is 9 and the lowest grade is 1. U Great means “Ungraded”. The lower part of the Great 7 is preserved along with the lower part of the Grade-A. And see the same grade 4 is aligned with grade 4 below grade C.

The bottom of Grade 1 is aligned with the bottom of the Great G. Similarly 3 numbers Great which are 9,8, and 7 all correspond to the previous grade of A and A* only. Let us tell you that the number scale is not directly equal to the old letter one. Also if you fail maths and English you will have to resit for the exams. However, if you are unable to get GCSEs, you still can get high-paying jobs for you.

How many GCSEs you can take?

What are GCSE grades?

Though it is important to get good GCSE grades, the following are the grades that you get during your GCSE

  • A* = Grade 8/Grade 9.
  • A = Grade 7/Grade 8.
  • B = Grade 5/Grade 6.
  • C = Grade 4/Grade 5 (which is also considered a Pass grade or average grade)
  • D = Grade 3/Grade 4.
  • E = Grade 2/Grade 3.
  • F = Grade 1/Grade 2.
  • G = Grade 1.
  • U = Ungraded.

What is the max amount of GCSE?

Most students will study for 9 GCSE. Students who do GCSEs in the main five subjects will be awarded and therefore they must choose the right GCSEs. English Language, English Literature, Mathematics, Science 2 GCSEs – and then they will complement that with 4 GCSEs awarded to them in their 4 choice subjects. Whenever students choose a GCSE subject, just now keeping in mind their future, they will choose whatever they have to do next. You must remember to take the GCSE certificates from the school as they do not keep them for much time. Thus, you can take these exams privately.

How Many GCSEs Do You Need for University?

Most of the colleges take English Language, English Literature, Mathematics, and Science (for both double and triple science) minimum of 5 GCSE of Grid 4(c) or above. While the entry requirements for the Sixth Form are slightly higher, they still take the same. Let us tell you that those who have obtained at least grade 4 at least 6 tend to look for (c) GCSE exam results. 

How many GCSEs you can take?

Many universities will decide based on your GCSE grade whether to give you a place in their course or not. This happens in many colleges. So all the students must pass GCSEs with good grades. It should be noted that the admission requirements differ between different institutions. You must remember that you will be completing the GCSEs at the end of year 11 and will have to sit for sixth forms or A-levels.

Some Sixth Form colleges, for example, Norfolk Sixth Application Form College, will compete with students with at least 4 GCSEs for Level 3 courses, while more prestigious places such as Cardiff 6 Forms are harder to get into because you need to obtain Must have at least six Grade 9 (A*) GCSE qualifications.

What GCSE options are there?

GCSE For most students the first time during school in the GCSE plan where you will have some freedom in choosing those subjects. All the common subjects’ names are given below, read carefully and select your subjects.

How many GCSEs you can take?
  • English-

1.  English language.

2.  English literature.

  • Math and further maths
  • Science

         1.  Biology.

         2. Chemistry.

         3. Physics.

  • Social study.
  • Physical education.
  • History


GCSE stands for Common Certificate by the Board of Secondary Education. It is valuable to all schools and colleges in which GCSE takes place. Your GCSE results can determine which job you want to do in your life. Most students will study for 9 GCSE. Students who do GCSEs in the main five subjects will be awarded.  

You may also like...