How many T-levels can you take?

Which qualification to take after completing GCSE is a tough choice. There is various type of qualifications like A-levels, BTECS, IB Diploma, etc that you can choose after your GCSE. One such new qualification that is getting popular at the current time is T-levels. There are a lot of questions regarding this new qualification like how many T-levels you can take at a time.

Quick Takeaways

  • T Levels are created by employers to assist with skills gaps in the job and improve technical aptitude in job seekers. 
  • As a single T-level is equal to 3 A-levels, you will have to take only one at a time.
  • If you are interested in getting more practical knowledge, then you must choose T-levels.

However, you must read till the end so that you do not miss any important information related to how many T-levels can you take.

How many T-levels can you take?

What is a T Level?

It is a new two-year course launched in 2020 which is equivalent to three A levels. As a result, students now have the choice of studying T-levels, A-levels, or other alternatives after finishing their GCSEs. Additionally, it will provide 1,800 study hours spread over two years, including a 45-day work placement. T Levels are created by employers to assist with skills gaps in the job and improve technical aptitude in job seekers. 

They are based on the same requirements as apprenticeships. The only difference is that you’ll be in the classroom for a long. T Levels are therefore more suitable for people who aren’t quite sure what line of job they want to pursue and aren’t quite ready to start working.

How many T Levels can you take?

T Levels are typically studied one at a time because they are single-subject oriented. This enables you to fully concentrate on your passions while also gaining a variety of skills and knowledge that will benefit your career development. You cannot study more than one of them at once because they are time-consuming to complete. It is also difficult because it involves both classroom study and industrial placement.

How many T-levels can you take?

Can you do more than one T Level?

As discussed earlier, taking up one T-level is equal to taking up three A-levels. This means that if you are deciding to take up two different T-levels, this means that you will be taking six A-levels, which of course is not possible. Therefore you can not take up more than 1 T-level as it will give you a lot of coursework that is hard to complete. 

Are T-Levels better than A-Levels?

As above discussed that one T level is equal to the 3 A-levels. This is also the same when we are comparing to the UCAS Tariff points. Thus if you are getting D* in T-levels, this means that you are getting A*A*A* in the three A-levels, which is equal to the 168 UCAS points in both cases. Therefore there is no such difference between the scoring strategy. All the difference lies in the depth of knowledge of the subject itself.

If you want to gain more practical knowledge in one particular subject and want to get specialized in it, choosing T Levels is the best option. You will be studying everything about the subject in depth. You will not have to select the other two subjects which will eventually help you to focus more on your chosen field. In addition to it, it will also help you to gain the required experience that is important for your future career.

How many T-levels can you take?

On the other hand, if you are not really sure about in which field you want to go or are very good at learning the theory part then of course choosing A-levels is the best choice. You will have to choose three different subjects which will help you to gain the basic knowledge of the subjects taken.

Are T Levels harder than BTEC?

T-Levels and BTECs are equivalent in terms of learning outcomes and level. They are equally beneficial to universities and employers. The only distinction is the work placement and experience you will get during the course that you are choosing. With a T-Level, you will work with leaders and supervisors who will teach you a specific skill. They will give you actual job duties, and of course, you will have to take responsibility for the task given to you. Thus you will be required to be more confident about it. You must be committed and intensely focused to succeed in both T-Levels and BTECs.

Do universities accept T Levels?

Because of the neglect of the academic side of learning, T-Levels are viewed with suspicion by many universities. Due to its nature, a T-Level provides students with the knowledge and expertise required for numerous careers. However, because of this system, students are immediately directed into the workforce rather than higher study. As a result, many universities may not want to take students with T-Levels. Though they can still be used to get into university, some institutions, like Oxford and Cambridge, may not accept them.


T levels are the latest qualification that you may take after GCSEs. These qualifications are just like BTECs in which you will be gaining more practical knowledge. The only difference between the two is the work placement and the experience that you are getting and the different types of courses. Your tea levels are equal to 3 A-levels. This means that you will only need to take one T-level at a single time. This will help you to get specialized in a particular subject. 

You may also like...