University semesters

How Long are University Semesters? (Uni Year Start - End)

How long is a semester at University?

The university has three semesters per year: Autumn (September to December), Winter (January to March), and Spring/Summer (April to June).


Learn more

How do semesters work in university?

Semesters split the academic year into three blocks, each enhancing your knowledge. Exams follow each semester, testing concepts studied. Semester 1 and 2 exams cover respective content, while Semester 3 tests all three. Now, let's delve into the concept of an academic year.



A semester divides the university's year into three blocks: Autumn, Winter, and Summer, each lasting 15 weeks (or shorter, like 9 weeks in Russel Group universities). This division enables sequential learning, starting with basics, from September to June yearly. Semester setup remains consistent across years.


Subscribe to our Newsletter

Be Sure to Subscribe to our newsletter to stay a step ahead in your educational journey